In Sept 2019 when Apple released the iPhone 11, 11 Pro and 11 Pro Max along with iOS 13.1, an ‘Important Display Message’ on all iPhone 11 and newer models would appear after third-party display and battery repairs.
Screen replacement message:
It’s a well-known fact that Apple is not a fan of ‘the right to repair’ and will try to discourage third party repairs on their iPhones as much as possible. After Apple introduced the iPhone 11 models, along with iOS 13.1, a warning message “Unable to verify this iPhone has a genuine Apple display” would appear after third party screen repair was made. However, it is nothing to be concerned about and it will work and perform just as the original did, as much as Apple would like you to believe it would. Alot of phone repair shops use cheap quality copy screens but this message would even show up if a brand-new genuine Apple screen was taken from a brand-new iPhone and installed. Apples ‘scare-tactic’ notifications aim is to try and make you use Apple for repairs, and pay much more as a result, however, third party screen replacements do not affect the phones use, you can safely ignore the message and continue to use the phone as normal. After 4 days it will disappear from the lock screen and 15 days it will be removed from settings.
Battery replacement message:
If you replace the battery on iPhone X and above, a message indicating you need to service your battery appears in Settings > Battery, next to Battery Health. The “Service” message is normally an indication that the battery is degraded and needs to be replaced however the message still shows up when you put in a brand-new battery. Apple is locking batteries to each individual iPhone at factory, so whenever you replace the battery even if you’re using a genuine Apple battery from another iPhone it will still give you the “Service” message. The only way around this is paying Apple money to replace your iPhone battery for you, at a much higher cost. It is worth noting that third part repair battery replacements do not affect the phones use, you can safely ignore the message and continue to use the phone as normal. As with the screen display message after 4 days it will disappear from the lock screen and 15 days it will be removed from settings.